Bison Shepherd’s Pie

Shepherd’s Pie around here has become somewhat legendary. By legendary, I mean it’s one of those meals that I’ve perfected over time, everybody loves, and my clients request every other week. Normally, I use a beef chuck roast because it can be slow-cooked in the crockpot the day before, saving me prep time the day I plan to make it. This time, however, I used a bison chuck roast from The Honest Bison, also slow-cooked in the crockpot.

If you follow me on Instagram (onceinabluemoon17), this will be a review lesson of the many benefits of bison and also why I chose it in the first place. One thing I’ve learned about the Paleo community: we stick together and get behind great products! The Honest Bison raises their bison herd in the open pastures of Wisconsin, using farming practices which promote not only sustainability, but eliminate the need to feed the animals grain or soy fillers. Native grasses in the pastures ensure no pesticides, herbicides, or fertilizers are used, which is a win-win for the entire food chain. The animals are killed humanely in their environment which reduces the hormone Cortisol released when the animal senses danger. If that doesn’t win you over, consider the nutrition content of bison compared to beef: it has half the calories, lower fat, more protein and iron, and less cholesterol. Plus, The Honest Bison ships directly to your door!

If you’re wondering about the taste (“eww, must taste gamey”), I can assure you that not only this recipe, but also the bison burgers I fed to my own family and my sister’s, passed the taste test of everybody who ate it, including my very picky thirteen year-old nephew. Yes, it’s more costly than buying beef on sale at your local market, but so is buying organic, whole food with no added crap. Stepping off soapbox briefly…

For this recipe, I played around with the vegetables and found some frozen organic root veggies I really liked with more variety than the same ones I always use. For all intents and purposes, you can add whatever veggies you want, I just steam or saute mine before assembling the pie.

For the roast:

1 bison chuck roast (2.3 lbs.)

1 onion, cut in quarters

3-4 stalks celery, rough cut

1/2 cup organic ketchup

2 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp. smoked paprika

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 cup coconut sugar (or regular)

1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup water, depending on the size of your roast

Put the chuck roast in the bottom of a crock pot along with vegetables. Combine the rest of the ingredients and pour over meat. Cook on low 5 to 5 1/2 hours. Let cool and separate meat into bite-sized chunks (it should be so tender that you don’t even need to use a knife). Strain the sauce into a medium bowl, discarding onions and celery. Reserve for later.

IMG_0079

For the veggies:

2 packages Earthbound Farm Organic braised root vegetables, steamed and chopped

6 portabella mushrooms, sauteed in 2 tablespoons garlic EVOO

For the mashed potatoes:

For this recipe, I used Trader Joe’s frozen mashed potatoes, but I’ve also mashed my own red potatoes too. It just depends on time and preference and yes, I do eat potatoes on occasion even though they’re not Paleo.  I used two packages of the frozen mashed potatoes and added 1/4 cup Earth Balance vegan butter in a large pot. Gradually add 1 cup organic chicken stock (or homemade, better yet) as potatoes begin to defrost, until smooth and creamy.

I actually made three “pies” for two clients and one for us, but you could use an au gratin dish or 9 x 13 casserole. Begin by assembling the meat into the bottom of the pan or dish. Top with the steamed veggies and sauteed mushrooms. Pour the strained sauce over the veggies. Spread the mashed potatoes over the top and if you do dairy, sprinkle about a cup of cheddar cheese over potatoes. Bake in a preheated 350 oven for an hour.

IMG_0089

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

