Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken pot pie is the ultimate in comfort food, in my very humble opinion. It is always in the dinner rotation around here, especially when our “spring” weather feels like winter lately. Over the years, I’ve had to make a speedy quick pot pie because I didn’t have the time to devote to the slow-cooked version. Don’t get me started on the gravy either; that has evolved solely because of special requests of the people who eat my food. Nonetheless, it has led me here – to the healthiest and most comforting slow-cooked meal this side of the Mississippi.

In my speedy quick version, I used to use a store-bought Rotisserie chicken. Now that I’m older and wiser, I roast my own organic chicken in batches, freezing the leftover meat for another purpose. Yes, it takes more time and is more expensive, but the quality of chicken cannot be overestimated. Not only that, but the bone broth from your own roasted chicken is essential to perfect gravy. Organic chicken plus organic bone broth cancels the cost differential of buying store-bought and you won’t sprout feathers from all the weird stuff in the cheap chicken. I’m kidding (kind of).

Grain-free, dairy-free pie crust and I have agreed to disagree. It’s not that it can’t be done; I’ve been there, done that more than a few times. It’s also not because of taste. It tastes pretty damn close to the real deal. No people, it’s solely because of the lack of aesthetics. You heard me – it just doesn’t look pretty. Call me vain and superficial if you must, but I want it to look pretty. This is the one and only reason I use store-bought gluten-free pie crust. I know, audible, horrified gasps. It’s true though. I love Wholly Wholesome’s pie crusts because they’re gluten-free as well as dairy free. They are packaged nice and pretty in pie tins in the freezer section of Sprout’s and Whole Foods.. I relent to only prepackaged pie crusts. Enough said.

This recipe makes enough to make three pies, so you could easily modify it if needed. Because I own stock in Trader Joe’s (I really don’t, but I should), I use their frozen roasted potatoes, without the peppers, and their pre-diced Mirepoix.

IMG_0865

Ingredients:

2 whole organic chickens

1 cup garlic infused extra virgin olive oil (or regular EVOO and add crushed garlic

1/2 cup fresh herbs, such as sage, rosemary, and thyme

2 tablespoons everyday seasoning (I use Trader Joe’s)

chopped carrots (for broth only)

6 cups water (enough to fill half the roasting pan)

2 tablespoons coconut oil

2 tablespoons crushed garlic

1 1 /4 cup Mirepoix

1 package frozen roasted potatoes, without peppers

1 package frozen organic peas

3 packages frozen gluten-free pie crusts, 2 shells per package

1/2 cup vegan butter

1 1/2 cup grain-free flour

4 1/2 cup bone broth from roasted chickens

 

For the chicken:

Start with two (or one if you want less) whole organic chickens. Clean and dry each, removing any giblets or neck inside the cavity. In a roasting pan, rub garlic oil or any good EVOO or Avocado Oil all over the chicken with your hands. I use sage, rosemary, and an everyday seasoning sprinkled over the top of chickens, breast side down. Fill the roasting pan with enough water so that at least half of the chicken is covered. I also put carrots in the pan to enhance the flavor of the broth.

Roast the chickens low and slow for approximately 3 hours at 300 degrees. The internal temperature should be 165 while the outside should be brown and crispy.

IMG_0858

Remove chickens and cool. I use my hands to pick out the meat from the bones, removing the skin first. It’s easier to ensure there are no bones this way and you get as much of the meat as possible. I know it’s messy and I keep a paper bag in my sink to easily dispose of bones and carcass.

Pour the bone broth through a strainer into a bowl. You should have at least 6 cups of bone broth.

IMG_0862

For the filling:

Heat 2 tablespoons of oil (coconut or otherwise) in a large skillet. Add 2 tablespoons crushed garlic and Mirepoix (1/2 cup diced carrot, 1/2 cup diced celery, 1/4 cup diced onion). Cook until veggies are soft. Add one package frozen roasted potatoes without the peppers. Cook until potatoes are almost soft and add 1 package frozen peas. Combine all veggies and add the chopped chicken meat of one chicken.

Meanwhile, bring the frozen pie crusts to room temperature. Bake the bottom crust at 350 for 8-10 minutes.

 

For the gravy:

In a saucepan, melt 1/2 cup vegan butter until completely melted. Gradually add 1 1/2 cups grain-free flour, whisking constantly to make a paste. Slowly add 4 1/2 cups bone broth over low heat, whisking constantly.

IMG_0535

Divide the filling into browned pie crusts. Pour at least 1 cup of the gravy over the chicken mixture, enough to cover. Carefully, remove the second pie crust from the tin and place over the pie, tucking the edges under. Using a fork, seal the edges by pressing down the perimeter of the pie crust. Prick 3 holes at the top of crust to allow steam to escape.

IMG_0872

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes to one hour. The crust should be golden brown.

IMG_0884

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Chicken Pot Pie”

  1. Yolanda
    June 4, 2015 at 8:29 pm #

    Julie, your chicken pot pie sounds fabulous, tasty, and healthy Julie! Wish I had the energy to cook as well as you do. Will you cook for me too?

    • June 4, 2015 at 11:10 pm #

      I would be happy to cook for you too Yolanda! I heard you’re a little father away now? Thank you for the kind words 😊

Leave a Reply

