Cinnamon Roll Waffles

Cinnamon rolls + waffles = true love forever! Seriously, what’s not to love, especially on a Sunday morning? If you follow me on Instagram (juliewooton), you know by now, I live for Sunday breakfast. Maybe it’s because the rest of the week, breakfast is rushed or maybe that I’m committed to protein shakes most weekdays, but Sunday breakfast has become religious in our house. I love waking up before anyone else, making a steaming hot cup of tea and making a beautiful breakfast. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; “Breakfast is Sunday’s way of thanking you for getting up the rest of the days..”

We love waffles around here and I always use Against All Grain’s waffle recipe. It uses raw cashews which you would never guess if you’ve tasted these light and fluffy waffles. I’ve modified her recipe to include a combination of buckwheat and gluten-free all purpose flour and cinnamon. I added cinnamon to the waffles, but made this cinnamon icing syrup which can be warmed before serving. I know, indulge me the powdered sugar dedicated Paleo followers! I have a Belgian waffle maker so we end up splitting waffles because they’re so huge, but I ate every last bite of my half! They are just that good people. Happy spring Sundays y’all!

For the waffles:

3 large organic eggs, room temperature

1/2 cup coconut milk

3 tablespoons honey or maple syrup

3 tablespoons coconut oil, melted

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup raw cashews

3 tablespoons grain-free flour (I use buckwheat)

3/4 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

 

Preheat waffle iron. Place all the ingredients in a high-speed blender and blend until the batter is smooth, about 1 minute. Pour evenly into your waffle iron and close the lid until it’s steaming on both sides. Remove carefully with a long, stainless spatula.

 

For the cinnamon icing syrup:

3/4 cup powdered sugar

1/2 cup milk substitute (I use cashew)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

 

Whisk together the above ingredients and warm in a non-reactive container in the microwave for about 1 minute. Serve warm over hot waffle.

IMG_0638

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Cinnamon Roll Waffles”

  1. March 24, 2015 at 6:23 pm #

    these look AMAZING! thanks for sharing- I’m not a big waffle person because theyre normally kind of boring…these are anything but! If you’re interested, I would love for you to share a post at my link up today!
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

Leave a Reply

