Paleotized Gingerbread Snickerdoodles With Crystallized Ginger

Last month, I made these amazing pumpkin snickerdoodles, modified from a recipe from Spoonfeast.com. By modified, I mean I Paleotized them and used coconut butter, gluten-free flour, and organic cane sugar, instead of processed sugar. Since it’s December and I’ve moved on from pumpkin to gingerbread, I wanted to try using crystallized ginger in this recipe. Ohhh. Emm. Gee. Scrumdidilyumptuous they turned out to be and I had to force myself to stop eating them right off the baking sheet!

The crystallized ginger just sounds intimidating, but it’s really super easy. I just peeled and chopped the ginger fine, put the pieces in a saucepan with enough water to boil and let the water reduce. Once there’s very little water left, add an equal amount of organic cane sugar to the saucepan and cook until the water is reduced and you have syrup. It should be a golden brown thick syrup. I made about a half cup syrup with the crystallized ginger pieces. I used some of the ginger to make gingerbread pancakes which were also fantastical!
IMG_0250

Pretty sure these babies need to be in your holiday cookie rotation!

The ingredients:
1/2 cup coconut butter (Spectrum)
1 cup organic cane sugar
1/2 cup organic brown cane sugar
2 large eggs
1/4 cup organic molasses
1/4 cup crystallized ginger with syrup
3 cups gluten-free flour (I always use an all-purpose GF flour like Bob’s)
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tbsp. cream of tartar
1/2 tbsp. ground ginger
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. sea salt

1/2 cup organic cane sugar with 2 tbsp. cinnamon to roll dough.

In a mixing bowl, beat the butter, sugar, and eggs until creamy. Gradually add in the dry ingredients, mixing on low. Add the ginger syrup and molasses and mix until dough is formed. Now here’s the crucial part: REFRIGERATE THE DOUGH! I cannot emphasize this enough! Trust me when I say, I learned the hard way. I made my dough the night before and left it overnight, but it needs to chill at least 1-2 hours lest you have a cookie disaster as I did.
Roll refrigerated dough into balls and dredge in the sugar/cinnamon mixture. Place on cookie sheet and bake at 350 for about 10 minutes, until tops are golden brown and cracked. Cool completely on wire racks.
IMG_0261

Tags: , ,

Categories: Desserts

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

