Paleo Pumpkin Pie

Maybe I am getting ready for Thanksgiving already. It is, after all, my favorite holiday and this year, we are traversing hill and dale to Texas to see the grandparents. Not only do I need a dry run before the actual show, but this is the first year I’m also eating Paleo. Since my body doesn’t react well to an occasional cheat, I need to have my recipes in order now.

Pumpkin pie is decidedly THE dessert on Thanksgiving and although I’m not a huge fan, my family is so I decided to do a test run on this first. I started with a sweet potato crust and added organic pecans for an added crunch. The pie is traditional pumpkin pie, but without any dairy or refined sugar. I finished it with a pecan crumble, but that’s an option you can take or leave. The whipped cream is left to your imagination since my family doesn’t do whipped cream, let alone made out of coconut milk.
One more thing; I made mine in a springform cheesecake pan, only because I still haven’t bought a deep dish pie plate. The pie filling is pretty generous so you may even have enough for two pies, but I like the way it came out in the springform pan. Happy Thanksgiving rehearsal! 🍁🍗🍴

For the crust:
18 oz. mashed sweet potatoes (I used Trader Joe’s frozen bag)
1/2 organic coconut palm sugar
1 cup organic pecan halves

Combine mashed sweet potatoes, sugar and pecans and press into the bottom of a greased springform pan. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

For the pie filling:
3 eggs
13.5 oz. coconut cream
15 oz. pumpkin
1 cup organic coconut palm sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

In a medium bowl, beat eggs well adding coconut cream gradually. Add in the pumpkin, sugar, vanilla and pumpkin pie spice, until well blended. Pour over sweet potato crust and bake at 350 for an hour to an hour and 5 minutes, until center is set and a toothpick is clean when inserted.

In a small saucepan, heat the coconut oil, and add pecan pieces and sugar until combined. Spread over the top of baked pie while its still hot.

IMG_1168.JPG

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Desserts

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Paleo Pumpkin Pie”

  1. Suzanne
    October 27, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

    With sweet potatoes in the crust, it won’t be a crunchy crust like you would have using a pie crust or graham cracker crust. Does it taste potatoey? It sounds tasty but I guess I have to make it myself to see how it tastes to us.

    • October 27, 2014 at 10:24 pm #

      Its not a traditional crust, but it does have crunch with the pecans in it. Its very sweet tasting to me with the coconut palm sugar and given sweet potatoes are sweet anyway. Hope you try it! 😊

  2. Suzanne
    October 27, 2014 at 10:26 pm #

    For anyone who is interested I kind of like a gluten free pumpkin pudding or the pie filling without a crust. In place of the pumpkin, butternut squash or sweet potato works just as well.

Leave a Reply

