Chocolate Orange Coffee Creamer

I have quite possibly created a coffee creamer I could market and become a multi-bajillionaire and devote my life to philanthropic causes. Would you believe this (said as Maxwell Smart)? A rich, dark chocolate coffee creamer that is completely dairy-free, has only 5 grams of sugar (no refined sugar), and half the calories as regular flavored creamer?

Back in the day, (and by day, I don’t remember exactly which one or even the year), but Starbuck’s made a Valencia Orange Mocha. I’m thinking it may have been about 10 years ago. Anywho, I loved that flavor, unmistakably more than the holiday flavors. There is something religious in the pairing of orange and dark chocolate and whoever was in charge of discontinuing that flavor was a fool.

Now that I’m completely dairy-free and have taken to making my own creamer, I decided I must experiment until I found the perfect chocolate orange creamer. I don’t even drink much coffee anymore, but this creamer is definitely a treat. I use dairy-free, soy free, nut free dark chocolate chips, which I’ve found at Target. Coconut milk is the base and the dark chocolate chips are melted with coconut oil. It may take a bit of hunting to find the orange extract, but I found mine at Whole Foods and online. I promise, Monday mornings just got a whole lot more delicious! Enjoy 🍊☕️

The recipe:

1 tablespoon coconut oil
3/4 cup dairy- free dark chocolate chips
1 13.5 oz. can coconut milk
2 teaspoons orange extract

Over medium heat, heat oil and melt chocolate chips until smooth. Turn heat to low and add coconut milk, stirring well to incorporate. Add the orange extract and let cool before pouring into a sealed jar. Refrigerate until ready to use.

IMG_1150-0.JPG

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Coffee creamer

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Chocolate Orange Coffee Creamer”

  1. Yolanda
    November 8, 2014 at 5:14 pm #

    Hi Julie! It’s Cece’s mom again…. just want to say thank you for making the delicious coffee creamer for me. I’ve waited til I had a quiet moment to sit down and enjoy a cup of organic decaf coffee with your chocolate orange creamer but that it took a while before that happened. Well, it finally happened and wha-la! Heavenly!! I’m saving the cute class jar you filled the creamer in for future orders if that’s ok with you. And, you’ll be hearing from me. Blessings and thank you!!!

    • November 8, 2014 at 5:26 pm #

      So glad you loved it Yolanda! I’m working on an upcoming project which I know you will like 😊 Blessings to you always!

Leave a Reply

