A⃣P⃣P⃣L⃣E⃣ F⃣E⃣S⃣T⃣ ‘⃣1⃣4⃣

IMG_0900
IMG_0899
When you go to Oak Glen and pick 9 lbs. of Fuji and Granny Smith apples, you better go big or go home. It may have been fall in my mind, but outside, Southern California experienced satanic heat which prevented me from turning on my oven, post apple-picking field trip. Not to fear, I did peel and core about a half dozen (using my handy peeling, coring, slicing gizmo) and used my crockpot to make applesauce and cook a pork butt low and slow in the remainder. The heat finally relented and I was able to make these cute individual apple crumb pies using gluten-free snickerdoodles as the crust as well an apple chai-spiced bundt cake with pecans. We ate quite a few of the Fuji’s by themselves and as you can see, I broke out a pretty cool after-school snack for the youngest XY.
IMG_0908

If you’ve ever been to Oak Glen at Apple season, you know about those treacherous mile high Apple pies. An obscene amount of apples piled onto a flaky homemade crust, which is well worth the fourteen dollars. You would think a family of four XY’s would be able to polish that off, but it never happens and I end up having to toss the leftover. That and I knew that delicious pie would not be gluten or dairy-free. At the request of my lawfully wedded spouse, I developed this recipe for an apple crumb pie making the crust out of the snickerdoodles I found which were gluten and dairy-free. Ok, maybe I didnt want to go through the trouble of making one from scratch, but it tasted delicious!
IMG_0914

The apple chai-spiced cake I put together from a recipe in my old school Betty Crocker cookbook. I modified it so it would be gluten and dairy free and also because I wanted to use the chai spice blend we also purchased in Oak Glen. Instead of the chai spice, you could substitute 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice and 1 tablespoon cinnamon. Oh and here’s a tip of the day: for some reason, everytime I bake a bread or cake using alternative flour, whatever it is crumbles into a gigantic mess after it’s cooled and taken out of the pan. This bundt cake was about to do the same thing until I refrigerated it for several hours and then took it out. You win some, you learn some. In the future, I will be refrigerating my baked goods before taking them out of the pan!

IMG_0916

IMG_0921

The recipes
Apple Crumb Pie:

12 oz. gluten-free snickerdoodles
1/2 cup plus 1/3 cup Ghee, melted
4 Granny Smith Apples
Juice of one large lemon
1 cup plus 3 tablespoons coconut flour
3 tablespoons cider spices (or cloves, cinnamon, allspice)
1/2 cup organic brown cane sugar

Combine the melted ghee and cookies in a food processor and blend until crumbly. Press into a greased pie plate or individual tins and bake 8 to 10 minutes at 350.
Peel, core and slice 4 Granny Smith apples, the juice of one large lemon, and 3 tablespoons coconut flour and combine in a medium bowl. Place on cooled pie crust or individual tins.
In a small bowl, combine 1/3 cup melted ghee, 1/2 cup brown cane sugar, 1 cup coconut flour, and 3 tablespoons cider spices. Sprinkle crumb mixture over pie.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until tops are golden brown.

Apple Chai-Spiced Bundt Cake

2 cups gluten-free flour (I add almond meal to mine)
1 cup organic cane sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons chai spices or pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon
2/3 cup Palm Oil shortening
1/4 cup applesauce
3/4 cup organic brown cane sugar
1 cup coconut milk
3 eggs
1/2 cup raw pecan pieces

Combine the dry ingredients, adding the wet ingredients gradually while mixing with a hand-held mixer on low. Mix in the nuts and pour into a greased bundt pan. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes or until center comes out clean with a toothpick. Refrigerate for several hours before transferring onto a cake plate.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

