Just For The Halibut – Anniversary Edition

One year ago, at the prodding of several friends who suggested I start a blog, I finally made a huge leap of faith into the blogging world. I had next to no experience with blogging; reading any, let alone writing one. A computer geek, I’m not. My goal at that time was to share my food and my passion for eating well with people who were sick of seeing my endless posts on Facebook and also to give back some of the recipes I’ve shamelessly stolen from Pinterest.

A year later, by the grace of God Herself, I’ve somehow managed to share my food and now my food journey, to the far corners of this green earth and to more than fifteen thousand viewers. I don’t even know how this happened, but I’m becoming convinced of the why every single day. Over the course of a year, food and nutrition have become even more of priority, with even more meaning, and my mantra of  “Eat Well, Live Well” has become the focus in my journey toward wellness. As such, my goals for my writing and ultimately this blog, have shifted. I’ve always believed that with knowledge and wisdom comes responsibility. While I may not have all the answers, and I very well could be wrong, I feel like it’s now my responsibility to share what I’ve learned about food and managing a chronic disease with someone else who may be struggling too. For that one person, and the many others who love good food like I do, this is for you. I couldn’t be more grateful to be sharing food with all of you.

Halibut just happens to be my favorite fish, only because I don’t live near the Gulf and have access to Grouper or that would be my favorite. Halibut is seasonal, however, and it’s often expensive and mostly farm raised and previously frozen. Don’t make me get into all the gory details of why you don’t wanna buy farm raised fish. When fresh, wild caught Halibut goes on sale, you can bet I’m all over that like white on rice. I learned this recipe from a good friend sometime ago and I’ve modified it over the years, but it’s always a favorite. I can usually get fish haters to at least try this deliciousness. Oh, and it’s impressive. Mother-in-law or boss coming for dinner? This makes people think you’re really a chef from Roy’s. Ok, close because Roy’s is the Rolls Royce of the restaurant world.

I’ve made this version without soy sauce and with instant Miso soup mix. You could also use Miso paste instead, about 2 tablespoons. The soup mix has both red and white Miso which lends even more flavor. I used my Ninja food processor to process the Macadamias into a paste, but you could also finely chop. I usually serve mine with either mango salsa or mango sauce (pureed mango) over Jasmine rice. Guaranteed to turn haters!

 

The recipe:

1.5-2 lbs. wild caught, fresh Halibut

2 teaspoons minced garlic

10 oz. Macadamia Nuts

.94 oz. instant Miso soup

2 tablespoons organic brown coconut sugar

1/2 cup coconut oil

2 tablespoons garlic oil

 

Process the garlic, macadamias, Miso, brown sugar, and oils in a processor until mixture is a paste. Using a spoon, spread the paste evenly over the fish in a 9X13 foil-lined and sprayed pan. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fish. You want a brown crust on top, but a moist fish as well so keep an eye the last 5 minutes.

IMG_0814

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

