Monument Cafe Quinoa Salad

Recently, I made a 4-day sojourn to Georgetown, Texas, where my parents have retired to their dream community. My initial purpose was to help them unpack and to see their new house and the surrounding Austin area. Of course, it turned into a foodie tour, but how could I help myself?

The Monument Cafe in Georgetown was our first stop, primarily because I was on a strict detox then, and they serve a variety of fresh, organic produce, sustained from their own farm on the premises. Right away, I was in love with this place: the farm, the restaurant with healthy, but amazing menu options, and their market which sells among other locally farmed items, flavored balsamic vinegar. Who takes straight shots of every flavor of vinegar known to mankind? That would be a father and his daughter, who sampled every flavor (fig, strawberry, peach, apple, Mandarin Orange, etc.).
IMG_0647.JPG

Before I start gushing about the peach flavored vinegar like a lovesick 13 year-old, I will move onto the quinoa salad. Of course, I had to sample this salad the second I saw it, not only because it was beautiful to look at, but also because I could eat it on my detox diet. Gluten-free, dairy-free, no added sugar, plus protein. Winning and winning! I loved it so much, we went back for more so I could take it with me on the airplane.

IMG_0640.JPG

The recipe:
4 cups of water
2 cups red quinoa
1 cucumber, diced
1 can organic garbanzo beans
1 can organic red kidney beans
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
15-20 grape tomatoes, sliced
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup Peach Balsamic Vinegar (or regular balsamic)
Juice of 1 lemon

Boil the water and add the quinoa, cooking until the quinoa is cooked through and water is absorbed. Cool. Add the remaining ingredients and toss with the olive oil, lemon juice, and balsamic vinegar. It’s even better after it sits overnight and the perfect salad to take to work for lunch.

IMG_0697.JPG

IMG_0642-0.JPG

<a

Tags: , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

