Killer Veggie Burgers

Recently, my food journey has gradually changed me into a mostly vegetarian. I say “mostly” because I do still eat meat, I just pass it up normally. Coincidentally, The Habit just came to the nearby city of Upland and I’m obsessed with their veggie burger. I was quite the connoisseur of turkey burgers, but now I’m on a legit quest to find the best veggie burger this side of the Mississippi. So far, The Habit wins. Their burger is firm, crispy on the outside and you can taste all the veggies packed in there. They serve it with plenty of avocado which is my favorite! Side-note: what would I do if I lived someplace where avocados weren’t seasonal? Maybe I would have some sort of lack-of-avocado-disorder.
At any rate, I vowed to make a killer veggie burger by my own device and my sister’s family coming for dinner was the perfect opportunity. Ok, maybe I knew they wouldn’t be rude and refuse to eat it. In my sister’s words (after eating a whole patty with her fingers without any condiments or a bun) ” Hey! It doesn’t suck!”
20140608-124816-46096667.jpg

There you have it folks- straight from the horse’s mouth. Not only didn’t they suck, but I thought they turned out pretty good. Not to mention, I packed those babies with enough protein and vitamins to fuel an army of superheroes!
Without further adieux…

Start by boiling 2 cups fresh, chopped carrots. You want them to be soft because you’re going to mash them with a fork when they’re done.
2 15 oz. cans organic black beans, drained
1 handful fresh basil, chopped
2 ripe avocados
1 cup diced onions
2 cups fresh spinach, steamed
2 tablespoons garlic oil
1/4 to 1/2 cup water
2 cups Panko crumbs
1 cup rolled gluten-free oats
1 organic egg
Coconut oil or spray to coat skillet

20140608-124951-46191167.jpg

I used my NutriBullet (yet again) to do the bean paste, but I’m sure a blender would work as well. A word of caution: use enough water to blend the beans and avocados smoothly or the motor of your Nutri Bullet may hate you. Not that I would know. Put the beans, avocado, basil, garlic oil and enough water to blend smoothly. Add more water if necessary.

In a large bowl, combine the bean mixture, the carrots that you’ve mashed, steamed spinach , onions, Panko, and oats. Stir in the egg.
With your hands, form patties and set aside on a pre-sprayed plate.

Because these patties are fragile, I would not recommend putting them on the grill. It’s easier to flip them carefully if they’re in a skillet. Coat the skillet with coconut oil and fry patties on either side for about 3-4 minutes. Remember you are simply heating, there is no meat to cook thoroughly! Happy Meatless Most Days

20140608-125054-46254992.jpg

Tags: , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

