Roasted Eggplant

In honor of National Running Day, I’m gonna give eggplant, specifically the roasted eggplant wedges I can’t stop eating, a quick shout-out. Eggplant gets a bad rap sometimes because of it’s funky texture and more recently, because it’s a nightshade vegetable. It’s a whole thing, trust me, but I can speak to the texture. The texture doesn’t have to be that weird, jello-like flimsiness that we often associate with Eggplant Parmesean. Depending on how it’s prepared, eggplant is actually versatile and it doesn’t have to be loaded with a bunch of cheese and sauce to make it taste good.
Eggplant is also really a fruit, but let’s not even go there. It has a ton of phytonutrients which have antioxidant qualities plus B vitamins which are essential for runners. Whether or not you run, eggplant is like the vitamin boss of the fruit family and worth the prep time to add to your meal rotation.
My eggplant came in the CSA box this week and normally I don’t buy it at the store because I’m the only one in my family who will eat it. Some people swear by peeling the skin, but the skin actually has a lot of the nutrients so I didn’t peel mine. I also sliced mine in wedges lengthwise.

To prepare:
Heat oven to 400 and line a 9×13 with foil. Place the wedges of eggplant side by side. Whisk together in a small bowl 1/2 cup Balsamic Vinegar (I used Blueberry), 3 tablespoons of garlic oil, 1 teaspoon of oregano and a pinch of salt. Brush the eggplant and roast for 20-25 minutes until the wedges are soft, but still firm. Sprinkle with Parmesean and serve warm. 20140604-120933-43773448.jpg

20140604-120955-43795705.jpg

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Side Dishes

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Roasted Eggplant”

  1. June 5, 2014 at 3:10 am #

    Oh man! I wish this post was here like 2 days ago. I got eggplant in my CSA box last week and I couldn’t find a good recipe to use it in and so I had to throw it away cuz it was going bad 😦 what CSA do you use? I use Farm Fresh to You and love it!

    • June 5, 2014 at 3:14 am #

      Me too! And I love it so much! I signed up by way of a race expo and it’s like Christmas every two weeks. Sorry about the eggplant 😞

      • June 5, 2014 at 3:17 am #

        Yes I love putting out the empty box the night before and waking up in the morning to find a box full of goodies! I used to get just one box every 3 weeks but just recently added an additional one of just fruit!

      • June 5, 2014 at 3:20 am #

        We get the organic eggs as well and the fruit only may be a good idea seeing as almost all our fruit from yesterday is pretty much gone!

Leave a Reply

