Pimp Potato Salad- The Remix

I play a little game with myself that I like to call “Top Chef”, only it’s in my own kitchen. I know, don’t judge. I like to take the food that I have and a) see if I can make something I can actually feed my family and b) think of a different way to put the ingredients together. Usually, this happens when it’s almost grocery shopping day or I don’t have time to go to the store. No matter, this is food sustainability in action people!
This is how this remix of potato salad happened. That and I wanted to trim unnecessary calories and make it vegetarian this time. Oh no, not the bacon! Sadly, my bacon eating days are few and far between of late. Enough about bacon, onward to the ingredients. I had some leftover grilled corn from a couple nights ago, the potatoes and carrots from the CSA box and the rest of the veggies on hand. I haven’t used mayonnaise in forever and I try to keep nonfat Greek yogurt in the frig for a healthier substitute. The Serrano Salsa was leftover from the chile rellenos I made the other night and it gave the avocado dressing some added flavor and a little kick. You could use any green salsa or even some hot pepper sauce and yes, it came from Trader Joe’s.
The result is a much healthier, nutrient-dense salad that is perfect by itself or alongside your favorite summer BBQ. Enjoy!
20140529-175039-64239281.jpg

20140529-175050-64250597.jpg
2 cups German Butterball potatoes or white potatoes, parboiled and chopped
4 carrots, parboiled and chopped
2 ears grilled corn
1 zucchini, chopped
1/2 red onion, diced
10 oz. asparagus tips, steamed

The potatoes and carrots need to be parboiled and I put those in a skillet of water to begin. You want them soft, but still firm. Drain and rinse in cool water.

Chop the rest of the veggies and slice the corn off the cob. Set aside.

For the dressing:
2 avocados
Juice of one lime
3 tablespoons nonfat Greek yogurt
1 tablespoon prepared Serrano salsa or any green salsa

I used my Nutri bullet which is wondrous, but you could also put the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.

20140529-175342-64422045.jpg

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Side Dishes

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

