Loaded Cauliflower

Calories? You mean delicious points? Sad, but true kids. All those delicious points add up I’m afraid, and the older we get, the more expensive the points. You know me by now, though. You know that I’m gonna eat mostly nutritious, healthy, organic food with the occasional splurge. Because I earn my splurge points by a pretty structured training routine, I’m less apt to waste those points on real food. By real food, I mean not dessert. Lately, cauliflower and I are having a thing. I have to say, I’m impressed with this guy and I was not fan of his. I’ve made mashed cauliflower, in place of potatoes. Pleasantly surprised. Next up, cauliflower breadsticks with marinara from ifoodreal.com. Ok, those were amazing and then I was addicted.

Image

You know that potluck potato casserole that everyone makes and it makes its appearance at holidays and special events? The one where you can’t stop eating that delicious combo of cheesy goodness topped with buttered cornflakes? Well, this Easter I decided to give that calorie-infested casserole a makeover, using none other than cauliflower. Not only is he the go-to guy for cutting calories and carbs by half, but he also packs way more nutrition than frozen hash browns. I also substituted sour cream for nonfat Greek yogurt, cutting even more calories, but no delicious points! Go Me!

To start, steam or bake 2 heads of cauliflower. I steamed mine and it does make it easier to chop. Chop the cauliflower into small pieces

Image

In a large mixing bowl, add to the chopped cauliflower:

1/2 cup melted butter

16 oz. Nonfat Greek yogurt

1 can Golden Mushroom Soup

12 oz. sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

2 cups diced onions

Pour into a 9X13 and 9X9. This recipe makes enough to share so you can cut it, if needed.

In a small saucepan, melt 1 cup butter and add 4 cups crushed cornflakes. Spoon over the top of casserole and bake at 350 for @ 45 minutes.

Image

Tags: , ,

Categories: Meals, Side Dishes

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Loaded Cauliflower”

  1. April 23, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    Glad you enjoy the breadsticks! I’m on a cauliflower kick too lately. I hear ya about those calories adding up…Ugh.

  2. Yolanda
    June 8, 2014 at 5:40 am #

    Thanks for making this dish for Cece after her surgery. Of course, I took a little bite and immediately asked for the recipe:-) Glad it’s on your blog and you’re a good friend! ~Cece’s Mom

  3. Suzanne
    August 11, 2014 at 12:06 am #

    I won’t use canned mushroom soup anymore. What can I replace this with? I guess fresh mushrooms and some real cream? I won’t use cornflakes either so I’ll just leave that off.

    • August 11, 2014 at 1:26 am #

      I didn’t use canned soup the last time I made it either and it turned out just fine. Use a little more yogurt to replace the soup. I also won’t be using cornflakes anymore either, but you could replace with almond meal and palm shortening!

Leave a Reply

