In My Kitchen, April 2014

Isnt it interesting how getting out of your environment and daily routine for even a couple of days gives you new perspective and inspiration? For my friends abroad, we have a week long Spring Break (holiday) traditionally around Easter time, but in the school where I work and where my sons attend, ours was a full month before Easter. Here in Alta Loma, we’re about an hour and half’s drive to Palm Springs, an infamous Spring Break locale because of its desert climate. Back in the day (and by day, I mean when I was young enough for Spring Break to be a thing), Palm Springs morphed into a co-ed party town with hot motorcycle guys and chicks with thong bikinis cruising down the main drag. Alas, now our party days include brunch, poolside afternoons, back in the room by 8 pm, so we can watch a movie and be asleep by 10 pm. Such is the circle of life.
IMG_0024
IMG_0023

Luckily for me, we happened upon Clementine’s, a French owned gourmet marketplace and restaurant. Not only did they have a bakery on site, a gourmet deli, and an amazing breakfast menu, but owners also import kitchen items exclusively from France. I loved these dish towels with French art, but they were just too pretty to actually use. I decided to frame them and their new home will now be in our newly redecorated dining room.
IMG_0020
IMG_0022

In my kitchen, is another treat I picked up at Clementine’s; Blueberry Balsamic Vinegar from Napa. I used it to drizzle over baked chicken breasts with blueberry jalapeno compote and also with roasted fennel.
IMG_0015

The amazing breakfast panini at Clementine’s also inspired my own rendition with smoked apple chicken sausage, apple slices, and avocado on flaxseed Ciabatta bread..
20140322-181721.jpg

In my kitchen, is my new BFF. I don’t know where I’ve been, but ย it hasnt been loving spicy chai latte! My new BFF and I have been spending many a chilly spring night together…
IMG_0006

In my kitchen, is the California grown Deglet Noor Dates which we picked up at Hadley’s Orchards on our way home. You cannot, under any circumstances, leave the desert region of California without stopping at Hadley’s for their date banana shake. I’ve made my own date banana smoothies as well as date banana bread with chopped pecans.
IMG_0010

Spring break is over, but it’s always a virtual vacay around the world when you visit the IMK’s on Fig Jam And Lime Cordial Thank you Celia, for hosting this monthly adventure! Until next month. stay hungry and eat well.

Tags: , ,

Categories: In My Kitchen, April 2014

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “In My Kitchen, April 2014”

  1. April 6, 2014 at 7:41 pm #

    Sounds like you’ve had a wonderful break, Julie! Palm Springs is a place I’ve only ever heard of in old Bob Hope movies – it’s almost mythical to me. I’m glad you found a great place to shop and eat that offered more sophisticated items than the usual college food outlets! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • April 6, 2014 at 8:32 pm #

      I’ll make you a deal Celia- you come to Cali and visit and I will go to Australia! โœˆ๏ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธโ˜€๏ธ๐Ÿ„

  2. April 7, 2014 at 11:23 am #

    I also like to splash around balsamic on chicken. It’s a great combo. I can wait to visit the US later in the year and spend a long, long time in a Trader Joes. We don’t have them in Australia so this is my chance to stock up. Thanks for the tour!

    • April 7, 2014 at 11:51 pm #

      Where will you be visiting? I am a shameless billboard for Trader Joe’s and I would warn you to bring an extra suitcase just for groceries! โœˆ๏ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿด

      • April 12, 2014 at 12:07 am #

        Hi Julie – we are mainly visiting the midwest (4 weeks) doing a loop from SLC to Yellowstone, Mt Rushmore, Denver and then Marches and Monument NP etc then back to SLC. Then 12 days in NYC. As luck would have it, we WILL have an extra suitacse as it was part of our travel deal!

      • April 12, 2014 at 12:12 am #

        Awesome! That sounds like a whirlwind tour! Have fun and share your food inspiration when you return ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธโœˆ๏ธ๐Ÿด๐Ÿ“ท

  3. April 11, 2014 at 2:16 pm #

    Julie, your framed towels are works of art — simply gorgeous. I also liked the sound of your blueberry jalapeno compote with blueberry balsamic… mmmm… and date banana smoothies. Thanks for the Spring break!

    • April 11, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

      Thanks Kim! And you didn’t even have to go to bikini shopping ๐Ÿ˜ง๐Ÿ‘™Happy Spring! ๐ŸŒท๐ŸŒป๐ŸŒฟโ˜€๏ธ

  4. April 14, 2014 at 10:39 am #

    G’day! Always good to have a break!
    Thanks for this month’s kitchen view too!!
    Cheers! Joanne

  5. April 14, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    So nice to “meet” you and peek into your kitchen via IMK! Palm Springs – sighโ€ฆThose tea towels are gorgeous and I only wish we had a Trader Joe’s here in London. We have Wholefoods so perhaps TJ’s isn’t far behind…

    • April 14, 2014 at 1:26 pm #

      I LOVE Wholefoods Selma! It’s more pricey than Trader Joe’s, but they have a way better selection of meat and seafood and produce. Nice to meet you too Selma ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒด๐Ÿด

Leave a Reply

