In My Kitchen, March 2014

Greetings from my kitchen in an otherwise sunny Alta Loma, California! This marks my fifth IMK and I look forward to posting every month as much as I look forward to peeking inside some of the world”s most interesting kitchens. I’m always amazed when I see the different flags of countries who have seen my post and it looks like an Olympic event! Thank you again Celia at Fig Jam and Lime Cordialย for hosting every month, but also for such a welcome opportunity to see the world through food.

This last month has brought some much-needed rain to our drought-ridden state, although I’m guessing it was not much more than a proverbial drop in a bucket. Since most of our food is grown in the central part of the state, we will see food costs rising as crops and transportation are affected. It makes food sustainability make even more sense, and this month was my first month of cooking around a twice monthly delivery of farm-fresh, organic produce. I’m still experimenting with different recipes, but so far the veggie hating menfolk have eaten and actually liked most of the produce. Ok the beets didn’t make the cut, but they tried them, so that”s something.

20140218-153134.jpg

In my kitchen, is the Minneola tangerines I used from the CSA box to make Planked Pork Tenderloin With Asian Barbeque Sauce

20140226-152808.jpg

20140226-201821.jpg

In my kitchen, is the newly painted black french doors. I also made Roman shades, thanks to Pinterest, because I was feeling crafty. Note: what should’ve taken an hour and one person, took instead 4 hours and 2 people. I’m not that strong of crafter…

IMG_1637

In my kitchen, is the newest additions to the kitchen garden. Say hello to Ginger Mint and Freesia seeds given to me by a coworker..

IMG_1639

IMG_1638

I used the Ginger Mint in my Thai Coconut Soup and it turned out great! “On point” as Guy Fieri says…

IMG_1635

In my kitchen, (ok really its hanging in my closet, but don’t tell) is my medal from my latest run in LA Chinatown. The Firecracker Run has celebrated Chinese New Year every year for the past thirty-six years, by hosting a run and bike ride through the streets of Chinatown and up the treacherous hills above Dodger Stadium. Happy Year of the Horse!

IMG_1658

20140226-152408.jpg20140226-152357.jpg

20140226-152341.jpg

Thank you so much for stopping by and be sure to check out the rest of the IMK’s on Fig Jam and Lime Cordial! Happy spring!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “In My Kitchen, March 2014”

  1. March 7, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    Hi Julie,
    that pork looks delicious, and I’m intrigued now about ginger mint, I’ll have to keep my eye out for that.
    cheers
    Jason

  2. March 8, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

    Hey how cool, you won a medal! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sorry to hear you’re not getting a lot of rain in CA at the moment, I hope you get more soon. Your planked pork looks delicious, and how clever are you to make your own roman blinds! That must have saved you a fortune over buying them ready made! Have a great month, Julie! x

    • March 8, 2014 at 10:16 pm #

      Thanks Celia! Have a great month too and happy spring from Ca! ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€

  3. March 10, 2014 at 6:34 pm #

    MMm- sounds like some good cooking in your kitchen. I love Thai Coconut soup- does yours have a chicken base?
    In my family, they eat the beets and turn up their noses at the greens. Except for one grandson who mostly eats anything you put in front of him- A True Blessing, that one!
    Congrats on your medal!

Leave a Reply

