Valentine’s Cupcakes

There was a time when I was obsessed with cupcakes. This was oh, about last year before I started training for half marathons. Since I had to choose between cupcakes and running, cupcakes got kicked to the curb and only recently, did I become inspired to create again. Valentine’s Day, being coincidentally around the corner, I decided to incorporate traditional red velvet cake with strawberry cream cheese frosting. Everyone loves pink and red on VDay, am I right?

What makes these cupcakes unique, however, is the pretzel crust and the chocolate fudge pudding I added to the red velvet cake mix. Not only is the combo of sweet and salty divine, but finally, the red velvet cake is not too dry. I also added fresh strawberry purรฉe to the cream cheese frosting to be the perfect partner to red velvet. A dark chocolate pretzel (notice the heart shape) that I just happened to find at Trader Joe’s is the finishing touch (plus I didn’t have to make one myself).๐Ÿ˜Š

These cupcakes say “Pretzels have salt, chocolate is sweet, be my Valentine and make my heart beat ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’‹”

For the crust:
2 cups finely crushed pretzels (I used my Nutri Bullet)
1/2 cup melted butter
In a food processor or blender, blend the pretzels with melted butter until the consistency of sand. Press mixture to cover the bottom of 2 dozen cupcake liners.

For the cake:
In a mixing bowl, mix 1 package Red Velvet cake mix, 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cup milk, 1/3 cup vegetable oil and 14 oz. package chocolate fudge pudding mix on medium speed, according to package directions. Spoon into prepared cupcake liners and bake according to package directions. I bake mine for about 1-2 minutes less, to ensure the cake stays moist.

For the frosting:
1/2 cup butter
1 8oz. package cream cheese
10 oz. powdered sugar
1 cup strawberry purรฉe (1 pint fresh strawberries with enough liquid to blend in a blender or Nutri Bullet)
Using a hand held mixer, mix the cream cheese and butter on medium speed, adding powdered sugar gradually. Slowly add strawberry purรฉe, mixing on high speed until frosting is well blended.
Frost cooled cupcakes by using a Wilton plastic bag or Ziplock with a tiny corner cut from the bottom. Push a dark chocolate pretzel into the center of each cupcake when frosted.

Wishing you and yours a very sweet Valentine’s Day ๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š

Sent from my iPad

20140210-081721.jpg

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Desserts

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

