February In My Kitchen

Greetings from sunny Southern California where we are finally feeling some “winter” weather! And by winter, I mean highs in the low 60’s during the day with scattered clouds and some amount of rain. I almost feel guilty reporting, especially to my friends in frigid temperatures in other parts of the country and across the globe.
I love the month of February and this year, I’m super excited about exploring my new direction in food sustainability. I recently signed up to receive regular CSA boxes of local farm- grown veggies and fruit and I can’t wait to incorporate seasonal, organic produce into recipes that are both delicious and nutritious!
In my kitchen, were the homegrown kumquats from our tree that I used in Lemon Kumquat bread and in a killer glaze for salmon. Turns out kumquats are useful and ornamental…

20140203-163227.jpg

20140203-163350.jpg
In my kitchen, is Duke the dog, who has now been with us long enough to figure out when I’m making homemade dog food. If he could talk, he would have Robert DeNiro’s voice “Woman! That dog food isn’t gonna eat itself- chop, chop!”

20140203-163746.jpg
In my kitchen, is one of the new additions to my kitchen garden. I love succulents because I can’t kill them like I did the Dill I got at the same time. Sorry Dill, you gotta be hardy to survive in my kitchen garden…

20140203-164015.jpg
In my kitchen, is the newest addition to the garden which I love because it kills two birds with one stone! It’s Shamrock Ivy in the shape of a heart, which means if it survives, it celebrates both Valentine’s Day (the heart shape) and St. Patrick’s Day! How efficient is this guy? šŸ’—šŸ€

20140203-164359.jpg
In my kitchen, is the potato skins I made for SuperBowl last night. For my friends abroad, SuperBowl is the biggest football game of the year and you know how obsessed we Americans are about our football. The Seattle Seahawks dominated the Denver Broncos and it was actually a rather boring game because of the huge point spread. That’s why you have to have good food to keep you engaged šŸˆ

20140203-164913.jpg
In my kitchen, is my hard-earned medal from the half marathon I ran yesterday in Huntington Beach. Although my finish time of 2:17 wasn’t my best, considering the obstacles I faced in my training, I’m pretty proud of running the race at all.

As always, many thanks to Celia at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial in Australia for hosting this monthly gathering of kitchens from all over this wide planet of ours.
“The miracle is not to walk on water. The miracle is to walk the green earth, dwelling deeply in the present moment and feeling truly alive.” ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

20140203-170553.jpg

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “February In My Kitchen”

  1. February 6, 2014 at 8:47 am #

    G’day Julie! Your got me at your Lemon and Kumquat Bread and re your prior post, I am THE BIGGEST Mickey Mouse/Disneyland fan; LOVED you Disneyland Monte Cristo too!
    Thank you for this month’s In My Kitchen view!
    Cheers! Joanne

    • February 6, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

      Thank you so much Joanne! You used to live in the US yes? We Americans love our Disney almost as much as our football and I hope you get the chance to see Saving Mr. Banks! The main character (author of Mary Poppins) hails from Australia and the backstory all takes place there. I thought of you and Celia while watching šŸ˜Š

  2. February 6, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

    You ran a half marathon? Congratulations, that’s HUGE! What a good mom you are, making homemade dog treats! And those potato skins look divine, I think if you served them up, I’d stop watching the game and concentrate on those instead! šŸ™‚

    • February 7, 2014 at 3:10 am #

      Thank you so much Celia! I would gladly trade some potato skins for anything chocolate made in Celia’s kitchen šŸ˜Š

  3. February 8, 2014 at 11:49 am #

    What a very colourful post. I will have to go and check out more about kumquats now!!!

  4. February 8, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

    Thanks for sharing- now if only we could share some of that warm February weather! We have been in the single digits and below zero for so long that I have cabin fever- so it is a good thing to see your green wreath and kumquats on the branch! The bread sounds delicious and I love the potato skins.

    • February 8, 2014 at 10:58 pm #

      Oh Heidi- that’s why I feel almost guilty about our warm weather! I would definitely not handle single digits for long periods with any amount of sanity. Sending you warm wishes from Cali ā˜€ļøšŸŒ“šŸ„

  5. February 14, 2014 at 12:12 pm #

    Julie, congratulations on running & finishing the race! I also like your hopeful attitude toward plants (I fall into the “was I supposed to water that?” category, too…) — your multi-holiday heart wreath looks great! Happy Valentine’s Day (and Happy St. Patrick’s Day a lil’ early.) šŸ™‚

    • February 14, 2014 at 3:04 pm #

      Thank you so much Kim! I did kill Dill though, don’t forget about that. Plants and I have a good understanding; they will be hardy and I will water them occasionally. Happy Valentine’s Day šŸ’™šŸ’œšŸ’—

Leave a Reply

