Caldo de Pollo

Every year, I submit my renewal for honorary Latina membership and I’ll tell you why: authentic Mexican food. Never mind that I was born and raised in San Gabriel, California, home of the San Gabriel Mission or that I spent the formative years of my educational career learning to speak and write Spanish. Even in the midst of the rich, cultural Mexican history that is Los Angeles, it’s still all about the food.

Not that I’m not grateful for my German heritage, but there are those times I wish I had an abuelita who could teach me the art of handmade tortillas, homemade tamales at Christmas, and a steaming bowl of albondigas on Sundays. Alas, I’m left to navigate Mexican cooking with solely my inner Latina.

20140123-110256.jpg

Caldo de pollo is simply chicken soup in Spanish and much like the American version, is the ultimate comfort food. The ingredients have been proven to have actual healing properties, which is why my bear Jammie’s and I got out of bed long enough to make it recently. This recipe is definitely the culmination of ideas from those who do have an abuelita and I’ve modified it with my own experience as well. The Sriracha sauce lends just enough heat to clear the sinuses while the chicken broth soothes whatever ails. Served with fresh avocado and a warm tortilla – fabulous (in Robin William’s voice and jazz hands)!

20140123-111236.jpg

In a crockpot, cook 1 lb. chicken covered in 2 cups of the chicken broth on low for 4 hours.
Take the cooked chicken out, chop and return to crockpot.
In a medium saucepan, heat the oil or butter and sauté the garlic and mirepoix until soft. Add to the crockpot. Add the rest of the chicken broth, tomato sauce, Sriracha sauce, cilantro, lemon juice, and salt. I added another cup of water here as well. Simmer on low for another 2 hours.
Serve with sliced avocado, crushed tortilla chips, a side of rice and warm tortillas, if desired.

The ingredients:
2 cups cooked chicken (about 1 lb.)
2 32 oz. boxes organic chicken broth
1 tablespoon crushed garlic
2 tablespoons oil or butter
14 oz. mirepoix (carrot, celery, onion)
1 8 oz. can tomato sauce
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/4 cup Siricha sauce
Juice of one lemon
1 tablespoon sea salt

Garnishes:
Sliced avocado
Crushed tortilla chips
Corn or flour tortillas
Brown rice

Thanks to the overwhelming response on both Facebook and far corners of the green earth, Once In A Blue Moon 17 now has its own domain http://www.onceinabluemoon17.com as well as Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/julieonceinabluemoon17.

20140123-111428.jpg

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

