Kumquats Made Useful And Ornamental

20140119-140644.jpg
When we planted a bare root Kumquat tree about 8 years ago, it was purely for decorative purposes. Kumquats bare their fruit in the winter months and add height and color to a native garden. Growing up in Southern California, I’ve tasted a kumquat once, solely out of curiosity. One word: nasty. They are so bitter (even peeled and seeded) that I’m pretty sure you only need to taste it once.

In keeping with my focus on using the food we do grow in new ways, however, I decided that since we had an entire tree laden with ripe Kumquats, I would find some way to make them edible. “Ask not how nasty Kumquats really are, but what you can do with them” ~J.W.

20140119-140919.jpg
The resulting recipes were born from the research I did on the kumquat grower’s website, http//:www.kumquatgrowers.com. It looked to me like most were using a base of kumquat purée, so that’s where I started:

3 cups fresh kumquats, sliced in half
2 cups water
1 cup organic sugar

Over high heat, cover the kumquats in water and add the sugar. Boil gently for about 45 minutes, until the kumquats are soft and liquid is reduced. The seeds will separate, allowing for easier draining. I used my Nutri Bullet and added the kumquats with just enough water (a few tablespoons) to blend easily. Store in the frig until you’re ready to use it.

For the bread, I just used a boxed mix for Lemon Poppyseed Bread. I know, I can’t make everything from scratch though. Where it called for water, I added the purée (about a cup). I baked the bread according to the package and it actually came with lemon icing. Omg! It was so delicious and moist and the kumquats actually tasted candied. My boys loved it and I didn’t even tell them it had kumquats in it – I’m sneaky like that 😜

Since the purée made about 3 cups, I had enough to make some killer glaze for salmon. Everyone knows citrus and fish go together like peanut butter and American cheese (not kidding), so it wasn’t hard to put together this amazing sweet glaze for salmon:

1 1/2 cup kumquat purée
1 tablespoon crushed garlic
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 cup brown sugar

Whisk together and pour over 3 large pieces of salmon. Bake in a preheated oven at 400 for about 20 minutes. I served mine over brown rice and spooned the hot glaze in the pan over the rice too. I promise you, you will never think of kumquats in quite the same way again!

20140119-141118.jpg

Tags: , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

