In My Kitchen, January 2014

Happy New Year and welcome to another episode of IMK from beautiful sunny Southern California! Even my friends from Australia, the UK, and beyond have probably heard of the Rose Parade in Pasadena, California. New Year’s Day is traditionally the day when marching bands, floats decorated in strictly organic materials, and the famous Rose Queen and her court roll through the streets of Pasadena. The rest of the country, some in a deep freeze, envies those of us fortunate enough to enjoy perfectly clear, 75 degree weather on a winter day. There really is no place like California, and as much I whine about the heat in the summer, there is no place I would rather be.

In my kitchen
is the pink orchid that was just waiting to burst into this spectacular hot pink display in my kitchen garden. Orchids love the warm weather and the protection of being indoors in a well lit sunny window. I even found this baby orchid, which is the most adorable thing ever! Now I have a mommy pink orchid and a baby😊

20140101-185940.jpg

20140101-185955.jpg

In my kitchen
is my brand new baking cupboard! Ok it’s not brand new, but it’s cleaned out and purged from a lot of cookbooks that were collecting dust. I know, it’s nothing to write home about, but if you knew what it looked like before, this is pretty darn impressive!

20140101-190446.jpg

In my kitchen
is the Spanish Saffron which inspired an entire Cuban feast! I used the saffron in the rice for my arroz con pollo and it turned out fantastic…

20140101-190747.jpg

20140101-190757.jpg

In my kitchen
is my new set of 9×13, 8×8, and even an odd size I used for spinach quiche, complete with lids AND a carrying case with hot/cold pack. I got this handy set from my mother-in-law for Christmas and plan to use it whilst delivering food like a modern day Little Red Riding Hood (without the scary forest and big, bad wolf)…

20140101-193035.jpg

In my kitchen
is the Hamilton Beach Model K mixer circa 1965 that I inherited from my grandmother, who not coincidentally, loved to cook. It still works like a boss, although it needs refurbishing and I’ve been researching specialized vendors for the project. There is such a group on Yahoo which are exclusively collectors of vintage electric mixers- your fact of the day. I will report the status of the refurbishing project as it happens…

20140101-194457.jpg

In my kitchen
is my homemade relief of asthma symptoms. After a run in a heavily wooded area, I found out the hard way, there really is no relief from stupid asthma other than inhalers, steroids, and Albuterol. Oh and the flu. Desperate times call for desperate measures and this is the culmination:
Fill a sock with 16 oz. of dry Basmati rice or a combination of Flax Seed
Add a couple drops of Tea Tree Oil (a natural antiseptic)
Tie the sock at the top and microwave 2 minutes. Normally, the smell of the oil is too much for me, but in this case, the moist heat and smell clear the chest. I kid you not, I may market this and make a lot of money and possibly be forced to write IMK’s from various exotic locales..

20140101-195528.jpg

And that concludes this month’s episode folks! I’m looking forward to perusing the other IMK’s this month, so don’t forget to stop by Fig Jam and Lime Cordial>Fig Jam and Lime Cordial to take a peek at fabulous kitchens across the planet. Happy New Year from my kitchen and wishing your 2014 is filled with abundant blessings and fantastic food! 2⃣0⃣1⃣4βƒ£πŸΈπŸŽ‰πŸŽŠ

Tags: , ,

Categories: In My Kitchen, January 2014

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

24 Comments on “In My Kitchen, January 2014”

  1. January 3, 2014 at 4:23 am #

    G’day Julie and Happy New Year, true!
    Your pink orchid brightened my day and may 2014 be the best year yet too!
    Spanish Saffron…with could try your dish through the screen!
    Thanks also for this month’s kitchen view!
    Cheers! Joanne

    • January 3, 2014 at 4:53 am #

      You know I read your comments in a fake Aussie accent right? It makes me want to start out every sentence with GDay Mate! Happy New Year to you Joanne! 2⃣0⃣1⃣4βƒ£πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸΈ

  2. lizzygoodthings
    January 3, 2014 at 7:26 am #

    Hi Julie and happy new year! What a stunning orchid. May 2014 bring good things to your kitchen : )

  3. January 3, 2014 at 7:45 am #

    oh i absolutely love saffron!!! so versatile!

  4. January 3, 2014 at 9:17 pm #

    Julie, I hope you were ok – I know what you mean about the asthma! Glad the tea tree oil (an Aussie tree, btw) gave you some relief. Gorgeous looking orchid, and I am impressed by how tidy your baking cupboard is, because I know how messy mine are! πŸ™‚ Have a great 2014!

    • January 3, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

      Thank you Celia and thank God for the Tea Tree! Wishing you tidy baking cupboards in 2014 😊

  5. January 4, 2014 at 7:43 am #

    Hi Julie, what a beautiful orchid.
    And a baking cupboard is a must….I’m trying to not to let it become a baking room but I’m not winning.
    I love the smell of tea tree and glad it’s helping you. (hope we get to see your posts from exotic places!)
    cheers
    Jason

    • January 4, 2014 at 5:49 pm #

      Why do I picture a room covered in flour when you say baking room? Ha ha – could be fun! Cheers to you Jason 🍸

  6. January 5, 2014 at 4:59 pm #

    Lovely to peep into your kitchen. The orchid is lovely.

  7. January 5, 2014 at 5:29 pm #

    Oh how I do wish that I could grow orchids like yours. Lovely!

    • January 5, 2014 at 5:34 pm #

      They are spectacular and actually easier than I thought to grow! They do need sunlight and very little water 🌷🌸🌺

      • January 5, 2014 at 5:43 pm #

        One day I will give it try!

  8. January 5, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    Julie, way to go on starting the New Year with a tidy baking cupboard! I also got a kick out of your delivering baked goods like Red Riding Hood — no hooded cloak necessary with the weather there. (Snow in Oklahoma today… yikes.) Happy New Year!

    • January 5, 2014 at 11:17 pm #

      Happy New Year to you! 2⃣0⃣1⃣4βƒ£πŸΈπŸŽ‰

  9. January 7, 2014 at 10:29 pm #

    Oh, I got one of those insulated carrying cases and bowl for my birthday! I loved the idea but it took a while for me to start using it. Now, it goes to any party, picnic etc and have also used it at home when there are too many dishes to reheat or keep chilled for a party. Thanks for the tour! I look forward to reading throughout 2014.

    • January 7, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

      Cheers to picnics, potlucks, and food staying hot/cold πŸΈπŸŽ‰2⃣0⃣1⃣4⃣!

  10. January 8, 2014 at 3:05 am #

    Hello, Julie- your orchids are lovely! My brother grows about 20 cast off plants that he got from friends, family and grocery stores after they quit flourishing- he has a magic touch and they bloom for him continuously.
    I love your Red Riding Hood dishware- I tend to pack my take aways in disposable stuff so I don’t worry about getting it back- but everyone always gives it back. I should invest in some pretty stuff.
    And I’m running out of a huge stash of saffron that my niece brought me back from the middle east- I’m going to have to break down and buy some at Trader Joe’s. I use it in soups, rice dishes and bread.
    Thanks for sharing!

  11. January 8, 2014 at 4:04 pm #

    How lovely to celebrate the New Year with a parade and warm weather. Our weather this year in Finland is not nearly as cold as what it is in Minnesota or North Dakota but we have a tradition of fire works since the days are short and the darkness surrounds. Happy New Years and glad I found my way to your blog from Celia’s. πŸ™‚

    • January 8, 2014 at 4:11 pm #

      I think fireworks are the perfect way to ring in the New Year and yes, I almost feel guilty for our warm weather compared to the Midwest. Looking for to making my way to your blog in the new year as well! πŸŽ‰2⃣0⃣1⃣4βƒ£πŸŽ†

Leave a Reply

