Recovery Smoothie

I will never stop singing the praises of my Nutri Bullet and let me tell you why: if I used it for nothing else but making nutritious smoothies every day, it would be well worth it. Suffice it to say, I do use it for many other purposes, but I digress.

As a runner who is currently training for a specific time goal in an upcoming half marathon, I ask a lot of my body. Not only am I burning calories, but I’m also depleting important nutrients necessary for good health. Like a well-oiled machine, if you take care of your machinery, your machinery will take care of you.

On that note, it is equally as important to recover as it is to prepare. This smoothie packs iron, omega 3’s, and your daily vitamins in one punch. No matter what you’re recovering from, doctors and nutritionists agree that necessary vitamins and minerals should be coming from whole foods rather than multi- vitamins and supplements. PS- I never use a smoothie to replace a meal. The goal here is not weight loss, but rather absorption of nutrients to promote a healthy body…

20131226-114410.jpg

Ingredients:
1 cup fresh spinach
I banana, sectioned
1/4 cup frozen fruit (I use a blend)
1/4 cup Mamma Chia (in the refrigerated part of the produce section)
1/4 cup organic carrot juice
Enough water to blend easily, 1/4 to 1/2 cup depending on the method of blending

20131226-114516.jpg

Tags: , ,

Categories: smoothies

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

