I’m My Kitchen, December 2013

20131205-081142.jpg

This being only my second IMK, I would be remiss not to thank Celia at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial yet again for not just her brilliant idea, but for allowing me to share my kitchen (and the food prepared in it) worldwide. It’s not coincidence that a New Year’s resolution of mine was to cook for others at least once a month. I think I’ve come pretty close to doing that literally, but I had no idea that a blog, featuring the food I love, would reach so many people in such far corners of the planet. I’m beginning to read the IMK’s from Australia with a fake Aussie accent even 😊

In my kitchen, is a bowl of lemons picked from our lemon tree. We planted all of our fruit trees from bareroot, but our community was primarily citrus orchards until the 1970’s. Our house is also nestled against the foothills at an elevation of about 2100 feet. We do get temporary snow here about twice in the winter, and hardy citrus love our weather. I could never have too many lemons…

20131205-081257.jpg

In my kitchen is Pledge Extra Moisturizing Spray, which thanks to Pinterest, I now know polishes granite like a boss! Why couldn’t have someone told me this about 8 years ago? I’ve been buying expensive granite polish all this time!

20131205-081411.jpg
In my kitchen is my Twisted Peppermint candle, which is my all time favorite scent during the holidays. I could drown in a Twisted Peppermint scented bathtub, inhale the heavenly fumes of the candle all the live long day, and swathe every square inch of my skin in the body lotion. But that’s me…

20131205-081543.jpg
In my kitchen, is Duke, the newest member of the household. My son rescued him after he was thrown from a car onto a busy highway. After two weeks, I’m beginning to think he was pushed, but that’s another story. He does devour my homemade dog food like he’s never had food in his life…..

20131205-081803.jpg

In my kitchen, is gingerbread sprinkled with powdered sugar. And my youngest son Conor, who texted me from his bed, requesting warm gingerbread and milk. It’s a good thing he’s still cute….

20131205-081920.jpg

Happy Holidays from my kitchen to yours!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “I’m My Kitchen, December 2013”

  1. December 6, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

    Yes…the texting from the bedroom…mmm.. Duke’s a cute new addition to the house and so glad you could rescue him. Very holiday minded of you. Cheers!

  2. December 7, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    Oh yes he is very cute!
    My youngest sends me texts from the front door- because I’m a little jumpy if he just barges in ( he lives in the same town- but he moved out last year). He isn’t into ringing the bell so he tests me before just walking in!
    I love the lemons- I had an indoor lemon tree that would have the most beautiful flowers and set up small fruit only to drop them all several weeks later. We live in a cold zone- and citrus here needs a greenhouse to survive.
    Thanks so much for sharing- your dog is very fortunate to have you and your son as part of his family!

    • December 8, 2013 at 2:13 am #

      He is more fortunate than you know – we have quite a bit invested in him in the few weeks he’s been with us! Stay tuned for the most amazing lemon bar recipe known to the free world πŸ‹πŸ‹πŸ‹

  3. December 7, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    What sort of monster throws a dog from a car onto a highway? I’m so glad your son rescued him, Julie, but what a terrible thing for his previous owners to do! Thank you for playing, you made me laugh at your comment about reading other posts in accents! Love your lemons, and how cute is Conor! I have to say, I skype my eldest son all the time – and he only lives at the back of our house! πŸ™‚

    • December 7, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      LOL Celia! We do rely on our technology more than we should I’m afraid. Duke the dog has proven to be quite a handful, and maybe he actually jumped. Regardless, I recognize my son’s empathetic heart and plus I’m a big giant sucker ☺️

  4. December 8, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Julie, it was a delight reading your IMK post (although Duke’s plight made me cringe, but I’m thankful your son rescued him.) Fresh lemons in the middle of winter sound marvelous — looking forward to your lemon bar recipe!

    • December 8, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

      Duke the dog is more fortunate than he knows 😊 Happy holidays from CaliπŸŽ„πŸΈπŸŒžπŸŒ΄

  5. December 8, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

    Loving those lemons Julie. Our lemon tree isn’t doing what it should – although I do have 3 greenish lemons in the fruit bowl from it. Good to know about the Pledge – thanks πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas x

    • December 8, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

      Citrus do take awhile to get going and they love full sun, which ours are not. Fertilizers spikes do help as well. Merry Christmas to you! πŸŽ„πŸŒ΄πŸŒžπŸ‹

  6. December 11, 2013 at 12:11 am #

    G’day Julie! Duke is a cute addition to your family, true!
    He looks like he has a unique personality and will provide a lifetime of memories too!
    Pledge reminds me of childhood and love the text message…can I text you for some gingerbread to go? lol
    Cheers! Joanne
    Viewed as part of Celia’s In My Kitchen

    • December 11, 2013 at 12:34 am #

      You can text me anytime you want Joanne! I will fax your gingerbread right over πŸ˜€ Happy Holidays from Cali πŸŽ„πŸŽ…πŸŽπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

Leave a Reply

