In My Kitchen by Julie@Onceinabluemoon17

Recently, I ran across the genius idea from Fig Jam and Lime Cordial in Sydney, Australia to post what’s in my kitchen (heretofore IMK) monthly. Things like seasonal local food, cooking paraphernalia etc. are shared on food blogs from around the world and linked to Celia’s blog so we foodies can travel to kitchens across the planet without leaving our own! Since I’m a baby on the blogging scene, November is my first post, but certainly not my last! Thanks for the great idea Celia😊

Here in Alta Loma, officially Rancho Cucamonga, California, we are nestled in the foothills, about an hour east of Los Angeles. What you’ve heard is a true story: we are literally about an hour to an hour and half’s drive to the mountains (Big Bear Lake), the desert (Palm Springs) , and the ocean (Newport Beach). The Cucamonga Valley was until about three decades ago, an agricultural community boasting wine vineyards and citrus orchards.

Despite the growing housing and urban development here, there are many working vineyards and remnants of orange and lemon groves still in our community. In fact, less than 1 mile down the road from my house is a working vineyard which produces award-winning triple cream sherry on site. It has become a tradition in our house to buy the year’s bottle when it is sold, usually only one weekend in November. I don’t know much about sherry, but I do know this is as smooth and creamy as it gets. I use it to make my Potato Leek Soup (see recipe), Thanksgiving stuffing, and for sipping while cooking!

20131114-214344.jpg

Cranberries make their appearance in November as well, just in time for Thanksgiving. It’s too bad they’re only seasonal because those guys pack a nutritional punch! As we speak, I have pork ribs roasting in my oven that I’ve basted with a sweet and savory cranberry barbecue sauce. Also, this cranberry chèvre (fresh goat cheese) is bomb with raisin rosemary crisps and an ice cold Blue Moon Mountain Abby…

20131115-081547.jpg

20131115-081557.jpg

In my kitchen is a cinnamon broom which makes everything smell like fall..

20131115-081932.jpg

In my kitchen, is my new au gratin casserole dish which I will fill with numerous macaroni and cheese recipes and Thanksgiving stuffing…

20131115-082116.jpg

In my kitchen are various succulents which I love because they make my kitchen feel green, organic, and require very little water…

20131115-082308.jpg

In my kitchen is Rumchata, which is my favorite seasonal alcoholic beverage. It is the adult version of the Mexican Horchata (a coconut flavored drink) with rum. I plan to make Rumchata cupcakes with cinnamon icing, Rumchata French toast, and add it to my morning coffee until I run out and have to buy another gift set at Target, pretending it’s my early Christmas present…

20131115-082652.jpg

This is not the view out of my kitchen window, but I wish it was! This is sunset in Laguna Beach, about an hour and fifteen minutes southwest, on a blissfully calm and 73 degree sunset in November. It just doesn’t get better than this…

20131115-082903.jpg

Tags: , , ,

Categories: In My Kitchen, November 2013

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “In My Kitchen by Julie@Onceinabluemoon17”

  1. November 15, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Julie, how fabulous to have you joining in! And what a glorious part of the world you live in! It must be wonderful to have such high quality local sherry and fresh cranberries – not something we get here at all. Your goat cheese looks amazing! 🙂

    • November 16, 2013 at 12:20 am #

      Thank you so much Celia! I had so much fun sharing my kitchen with the other side of the world 😊

  2. November 17, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    Hi Julie, welcome to the IMK gang!
    Those cranberries look amazing and I love the thought of a cinnamon broom just to have that smell around.
    cheers
    Jason

    • November 17, 2013 at 5:49 am #

      Thank you so much Jason! They even have mini brooms so you can have one in every room 😊

  3. November 18, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    A cinnamon broom? How simply exquisite! I’ve never heard of these, but I most certainly want one! Welcome to IMK!

Leave a Reply

