Pumpkin French Toast

It’s still only October, but I’m already thinking about Thanksgiving and I’ll tell you why. Thanksgiving, up until I was well into adulthood, was the sucker punch of all the holidays. No presents, no candy, and boring food. Turkey and gravy is like the CSPAN of the holidays. Next! Plus, maybe I did ruin stuffing early on, but I digress.

It wasn’t until I was forced to cook the entire meal myself that I realized this huge feast freaking rocks! Except for gravy (which is a product of the devil), I love turkey, especially leftovers for days. I love cranberries and bomb ass stuffing and of course, the pumpkin. I always make a big breakfast so we can graze the rest of the day in preparation for the food coma. It has to be filling and something everybody loves and this, ladies and gentleman, is the golden ticket. I hadn’t even sat down at the table yet before the entire 9×13 was devoured by my three teenage sons. I didn’t even get out the maple syrup, although you could certainly do so.

20131020-202145.jpg

20131020-202204.jpg
You see that picture of this deliciousness? That’s also an apple spice Mimosa in the background! What now? Here is your Thanksgiving Day breakfast – you can thank me later…

The ingredients:
8 eggs, beaten
1 15 oz.can organic pumpkin
9 -10 slices pumpkin spice bread (I found mine at Von’s, but you can substitute a different bread) cut into blocks
2 teaspoons pure bourbon vanilla extract (or vanilla extract)
2 teaspoons pumpkin spice
2 teaspoons cinnamon
Powdered sugar for dusting
Maple Syrup, if desired

Preheat oven to 350 and spray a 9×13 with coconut spray or nonstick spray. Lay blocks of bread to cover the bottom. Whisk the eggs, pumpkin, vanilla, and pumpkin spice together and pour over the top. Sprinkle with cinnamon and bake 40 minutes. Dust powdered sugar over servings.

20131020-202627.jpg

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Traditions

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

