Real Men Eat Pumpkin!

Before you say “not another pumpkin recipe!”, this one is man approved. We chicks tend to dig all things pumpkin and if I’m feeling the man vibe correctly, the men folk aren’t always into the whole pumpkin thing. Fine. I live in a house where I’m outnumbered 4 to 1, so I have a different perspective on feeding men. Plus, I may have just a tad more testosterone than I need, but that’s a story for a different day.

This pumpkin chili has all the pumpkiny goodness (because it is actually nutritious) with beer. You heard me. Beer. Not just any beer either, but a seasonal craft brew by my very favorite, Blue Moon. I also added some chipotle to pack some heat plus cinnamon and molasses for sweetness. I think both dudes and chicks will dig this combination of sweet and savory chili on a cool, rainy fall evening. Cheddar biscuits not included.

20131010-162026.jpg
The ingredients:
1 package chicken thighs, cooked and shredded
2 Tablespoons garlic infused EVOO or plain EVOO
1 heaping tablespoon crushed garlic
1 cup chopped onion
1 sweet red bell pepper, chopped
16 oz. organic pumpkin
28 oz. diced tomatoes
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons cumin
1-2 teaspoons Chipotle powder
2 tablespoon molasses
1 bottle Blue Moon Harvest Pumpkin Ale

I used chicken for this chili, but you can use ground turkey or omit the meat altogether for a vegetarian dish if you want. I put mine in my crockpot on low for about 4-6 hours prior to making the rest of the chili. The method of my madness was to save time on a busy weeknight, but you can cook the chicken any old way you want.

That said, heat a large pot with the garlic infused oil and sauté the garlic, onion and red pepper until soft. Add the pumpkin and diced tomatoes and heat through. Add the spices and slowly pour in the beer. Last, add the chicken and simmer on low for at least 20 minutes. The chili will thicken the longer you simmer.

I topped mine with sliced avocado and Queso Cotilla, but you can garnish with traditional chili fixings; sour cream, sliced green onions, olives, etc.

20131010-162143.jpg

Tags: ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

