Spinach Lasagna Roll-Ups With Roasted Pepper Sauce

You know it’s fall when your coconut oil finally takes a solid form again. Courtesy chuckle, come on! Seriously though, finally, cooler weather is ahead and I’m certainly using the oven more than the BBQ these days.

I got this recipe from a friend of mine who might just be the fittest woman I’ve ever met. Not only is she passionate about fitness, but she is an amazing cook and beautiful on the inside and out, to boot. As soon as her kitchen is completely remodeled, I’m gonna hit her up and see if she’ll let me take notes on her mad cooking skills. Don’t worry, I’ll share!

I’ve modified this to make it even simpler than it was originally, and I kid you not, it took me an hour to make, from the time I walked in the door and turned on the oven, until I took it out to be served. Not to mention that it’s much cleaner eating than traditional lasagna and without all the unnecessary carbs and overload of cheese. I don’t do a lot of dairy anyway, and to me, cheese sometimes overwhelms lasagna. That’s me though.

First. Preheat your oven to 400 and drizzle 2 red bell peppers with garlic oil or EVOO. I also just found a basil oil at you-know-where and it’s beautiful on these! Roast the peppers for 20-25 minutes until the tops are brown and roasted. When you take them out of the oven, transfer them to a glass dish or bowl and cover with plastic wrap. This makes the skins super easy to peel off later (tip of the day FOC- free of charge).

Meanwhile, cook lasagna noodles al dente, according to package. Do not use oven ready noodles, they don’t work with this, trust me. Rinse them and lay them out on a flat surface.

In a medium bowl, combine a container low fat Ricotta cheese, 1 cup chopped spinach, I egg, and 1 teaspoon of garlic. Spread the filling evenly over the noodles and roll up. Place the rolls in a sprayed 9×13.

When the peppers are cooled and you’ve peeled the skin off, place them in a blender (I use my handy nutri bullet that I’m in love with) with 2 cups of diced tomatoes, two tablespoons chopped fresh basil and two tablespoons grated Parmesean Reggiano. Blend until smooth.

Pour over the top of the rolls and sprinkle more Parmesean Reggiano over the top. Return to the oven just to heat thoroughly, about another 15 minutes.

20130927-165917.jpg

20130927-165934.jpg

Tags: ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

