Cray Cray Couscous

It’s still hotter than a ringside seat in hell, even though I denied summer by decorating my house with fall stuff and burn candles which have names like Autumn Leaves and Pumpkin Spice. I figure if I trick my senses, the sweat that I haven’t earned, won’t bother me. As much.

That said, some nights I don’t wanna do a big hoorah. Sometimes I like to make something that I can reap the benefits of the next day, like a salad. My family doesn’t eat leftovers (don’t say it, I know), so whatever it is, has to be something I like.
This couscous is THE perfect leftover salad. No need to reheat. Not to mention the perfect blend of whole grain, fiber, and protein. Plus delicious as hell. You can change it up to include seasonal fruit, like peaches or strawberries and substitute the pistachios for a nut you like. Cashews and Mandarin oranges, peaches and walnuts, strawberries and pecans. You get the idea.

The ingredients:
1 cup organic chicken broth
1 cup whole wheat couscous
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup pistachio meats
2 tablespoons garlic oil
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Crank the chicken broth and butter until its boiling. If you haven’t noticed, I don’t cook with salt. At all. Everything I buy is low sodium. It’s because I’m old. If you want, you can add salt right here.
Take the pot off the heat, add the couscous and cover. Let it stand for at least 5 minutes.
Add the cranberries, pistachios, garlic oil and cinnamon. Fluff with a fork. Be the envy of your coworkers the next day when you bring it to work!

20130916-193614.jpg

Tags: , ,

Categories: Cray Cray Couscous

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

