Artichoke Ravioli with Roma Tomatoes and Fresh Basil

When I said I love cooking, especially nutritious food that is both cost effective and time efficient, I wasn’t blowing smoke. I have things to do, places to go, hands to shake, and babies to kiss and I’m not even close to independently wealthy. I also don’t like compromising quality or nutrition and by example, attempting to instill these priorities in our three sons.

This recipe is the trifecta of all of the above: cost effective, in that it cost less than $20 to feed a family of five, time efficient because you throw it together and let it bake in the oven for 35 -40 minutes, and nutritious because it’s Artichoke ravioli with Roma tomatoes and fresh basil. If I were vegetarian, I would be all over this like brown on rice! Courtesy chuckle….

Before I get to the recipe, a note on fresh Basil. I grow my own. It is not only pretty to look at in my kitchen, but organic and waaaay cheaper than buying it every time I need it, which is often. It is not like Cilantro, which I call the Kim Kardashian of the herbs. It is hearty and just needs watering often. But I digress.

The ingredients:
2 packages of artichoke ravioli or really any ravioli for that matter
6 Roma tomatoes, roughly chopped
1 7oz. container pesto (I used traditional Genova, but you can use any kind)
1 cup white wine (I used two buck Chuck Sauvignon from Trader Joes)
1 handful fresh basil, chopped
Grated Parmesan/Reggiano/Peccorino

Preheat oven to 350. Lay the ravioli in the bottom of a 9×13. Spread the chopped tomatoes over top. Mix the wine and pesto together in a separate bowl and pour over the top of ravioli and tomatoes. Bake for 30 – 35minutes. Remove from oven.
Sprinkle the chopped basil and Parmesean and return to the oven for about 5 more minutes. The basil will be wilted, but still retain its flavor.

Add a Caesar salad and bam! You’re a rock star! You’re welcome…

20130913-193018.jpg

20130913-193052.jpg

Tags: , ,

Categories: Artichoke Ravioli with Roma Tomatoes and Fresh Basil

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

