Strawberry Balsamic Salmon

Maybe you’re over strawberries. After all, it’s almost fall and we’re into pumpkin everything and Caramel Apple Spiced Blue Moon. Ok, that’s me, but still. If you’re like me, you’re trying to get in your Omega 3’s AND feed the fam something they’ll eat. For some reason, people are anti fish. When my kids were little, they adopted this attitude briefly, before I told them salmon was dinosaur meat. I know, but I’m not above bribery. Plus, it worked.

So this weekend, I ran a half marathon in Ventura. Not only was the weather blissfully cool and overcast, the course along the seaside, but the route home also involved the farms and orchards of Fillmore and Santa Paula. I don’t know about you, but I’m a sucker for fresh picked strawberries and as a result, we came home with an entire flat of strawberries. Needless to say, one can only cut up and eat so many, so the following is a result of my need to make something I could use later. And not jam. Been there, done that.

See recipe for Strawberry Balsamic Sauce. Keep in mind, I made this the day before and had it in my frig. Ain’t nobody got time to spending all damn day in the kitchen!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a foil lined 9×13 with coconut spray. I used 4 organic salmon fillets. Pour half of the sauce over the salmon. I left mine with whole strawberries.
Bake at 400 for 20 minutes. Take the salmon out and transfer to a sprayed cookie sheet and crank the oven to Broil.
Broil the salmon another 6-7 minutes until the top is nice and brown.

You can serve the remaining sauce over the salmon. I used Trader Joes frozen mashed potatoes (insert shameless billboard) and steamed spinach to make the meal.

20130911-211240.jpg

Tags: , ,

Categories: Meals

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

