Homemade Dog Food

I know what you’re thinking already. Home made dog food? Lame. Either she has spoiled ass dogs or too much time on her hands. Ok, maybe a little of both.

For reals now, I began making my own dog food because my Rottweiler, Carl (no relation at all to Good Dog Carl) has skin issues and allergies that make his eyes look mangy. I’m not kidding. Because my philosophy about food is also homeopathic, I decided to start with some changes in his diet to help with the incessant itching (annoying).

I started ambitiously, thinking I would feed two large dogs (a Rottweiler and Red Retriever) solely homemade food. About a week in, I realized I was not the Pioneer woman and I had to supplement store bought food. So now, I feed them half homemade, nutrient dense food and half store bought (good quality). For them, it’s about one cup homemade to 1-2 cups kibble, but obviously size matters. You are not going to save money by making you’re own, I will tell you that right now. I’ve priced mine out to roughly seven bucks a batch which lasts me about 3-4 days. It is cheaper than organic, homemade food you would buy, but not cheaper than regular kibble.

What I found in the almost year that I’ve been making dog food isn’t what I expected. While Carl’s skin and coat are better, it seems to have to do with outside conditions more than something internal. The heat seems to make his black coat more sensitive than fall and winter weather, however, his eyes don’t look mangy anymore. If you know us, you also know that Carl and Daisy are dog celebrities around here because they are renown escape artists. It was either write this blog or a book chronicling their adventures around our neighborhood; including but not limited to, swimming in other people’s pools, adventures on a college campus nearby, and mishaps involving goats. I haven’t even wanted to say this out loud, but they have not tried to escape ONCE since I’ve been making their food. Ssshhhh! Knock on wood if you must.

My limited knowledge of animal behavior tells me the quality and nutrients they are now getting curb their natural instincts to hunt, and hence, escape. Whatever it is, we no longer have to use the Pet Tracker and spend hundreds of dollars repairing busted out fences.

20130905-083451.jpg

On to the actual recipe however. You will learn very quickly that I’m a Trader Joe’s ho. I’m not ashamed at all and truth be told, they are going to get a lot of free advertising in this blog. This recipe is one I’ve dialed in to fit my dogs needs and now I make it pretty verbatim so as not to upset their tummies. The first 2 ingredients, coconut oil and the Mirepoix, are staples in my house. I always buy mine at Trader Joe’s, but you can get similar at regular grocery stores.

20130905-084303.jpg

The ingredients:

1/4 cup coconut oil
Mirepoix of 1/4 Cup each of celery, onion, carrot (if you don’t have Trader Joes, look in your salad section of the grocery store)
2 tablespoons garlic
1 cup shredded carrots
2 cups frozen green beans
1 package ground turkey (can be omitted if you want to go vegetarian)
32 oz organic chicken stock
3 cups organic brown rice (I use Trader Joes frozen organic rice)

Heat your oil in a large stockpot. Coconut oil can withstand exceptionally hot temps so crank it up! Add the Mirepoix, garlic, and shredded carrot. Sauté until the veggies are soft.

Add your ground turkey and cook until no longer pink. Add the frozen green beans.

Pour the chicken stock in and bring to a full boil. If necessary, add water to cover meat and veggies entirely. Let everything boil for a good 10 to15 minutes to ensure easy digestion.

Last, add your brown rice. Again, I use Trader Joes already cooked and frozen brown rice, but you can use instant rice. Cover pot and take off heat. Be sure you let cool completely because Carl is famous for sitting by the stove until he can eat it!

20130905-174617.jpg

Tags: ,

Categories: Dog Food

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

