Pimp Potato Salad

Happy Labor Day and welcome to my new adventure in cooking! I decided to ignore my OCD tendencies and post anyway, even though the site is still under construction. Be patient with me, I’ll get there…

In the meantime, while you all are done laboring and enjoying some cold beverages and BBQ, I’ve been cooking up some loaded pimp potato salad to go with the turkey burgers that will be grilling later. Now mind you, I skimp on calories and work my ass off running and working out every other day, so when I make something with potato AND pimp in the name, you can bet I’m gonna light it up and not hold back. You’ll notice I included my sweet and spicy bacon in here, which I had already baked up a batch the day before and had leftovers. Seeings how we’re all busy, whenever I can, I make more than I need and use the leftovers later in the week.

You ready? Grab your cold, whatever is your drinking and get your stove ready:

9 Yukon Gold potatoes
5 eggs, hard boiled
5-6 thinly sliced Kosher dill pickles, chopped
1 bunch green onions, chopped
5 Slices of sweet and spicy bacon, chopped
1 to 1 1/2 cups mayonnaise (and for the love of God, not Miracle Whip)
2 Tablespoons Dijon mustard
2 Tablespoons fresh organic Dill

Boil a big pot of water and put both the potatoes and eggs in there to kill two bird with one stone. They need to boil on high about 25 minutes and until you can stick a fork in the potato and its soft, but not mushy. Remove from heat and cool.

Run cold water after draining the hot water out of the pot to cool both potatoes and eggs. In the meantime, chop the bacon, pickles, and green onions.

When potatoes and eggs are cool, chop both and add to bowl. Mix mayonnaise and mustard and add the chopped dill. Refrigerate at least an hour.

Sweet and Spicy Bacon

2 packages of center cut bacon (you wanna do this right so don’t skimp on the cheap stuff)
2 cups brown sugar
2 tablespoons Chipotle spice (you can always adjust the heat

Coat the bacon in a large bowl with brown sugar and Chipotle and lay out on foil lined cookie sheets. Bake at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes. Remove and cool on a waxed paper lined tray. This stuff is sticky so take it off the foil right away..

20130902-160649.jpg

Tags: ,

Categories: Side Dishes

Author:onceinabluemoon17

Diligent seeker of health and nutrition, Paleo follower, and creative culinary practicer...

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

